Home | Waynesville Multiple DWI Lawyer

Waynesville Multiple DWI Lawyer

Waynesville Multiple DWI Attorney

North Carolina is one of the many states that impose harsh penalties when individuals are convicted of multiple DWIs. These strict penalties were designed to deter individuals from committing repeat offenses. However, these harsh consequences can also be extremely intimidating for anyone facing their second or subsequent DWI in Waynesville. To learn about what legal steps you can take, talk to our Waynesville multiple DWI lawyer for assistance.

Waynesville Multiple DWI Lawyer

DWI Defense Committed to Your Case

Just one DWI has the power to impact your work life, your home life, and your criminal record. If you’re accused of a subsequent DWI soon after, you’ll most likely have even more challenges to resolve. Luckily, you don’t have to figure things out alone.

At Edwards Law, PLLC, we combine our hands-on criminal law experience, our knowledge of North Carolina DWI guidelines, and our strategic defense strategies to offer superior legal aid in Waynesville. If you or someone you love has been charged with multiple DWIs in North Carolina, discuss your situation with our team as soon as possible. Edwards Law, PLLC, is committed to our clients and solving their one-of-a-kind needs.

What Happens After Your Second DWI in North Carolina?

Generally, most individuals convicted of their first DWI in North Carolina will be charged with a misdemeanor. The same goes for their second DWI, as long as the charge was not aggravated. However, once an individual is convicted of their third DUI within seven years, the charge is elevated to felony status. This means there’s a drastic jump in consequences from an individual’s first two offenses, as their charge is no longer a misdemeanor.

Once an individual is arrested for their fourth DWI in seven years, the state refers to them as a “habitual offender.” Habitual offenders are considered “high risk” for repeating their offenses and are given stricter penalties that cannot often be fought. For example, a habitual offender who is arrested for their fifth DWI will receive a mandatory jail sentence of at least one year and cannot request probation as an alternative.

Consequences of a Third or Subsequent DWI in Waynesville

  • Third DWI Consequences:
    • Fines ranging from $200 to $4,000 ($10,000 if aggravated)
    • Jail time ranging from 24 hours to two years (three years if aggravated)
    • Suspension of your driver’s license for at least five years
    • Possible substance abuse treatment
    • If driving rights are ever restored, an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) must be installed
    • Possible seizure of your vehicle
  • Fourth and Subsequent DWI Consequences: (Habitual Offender Status):
    • Prison time ranging from 12 to 41+ months
    • Suspension of your driver’s license permanently
    • Forfeiture of vehicle
    • Fines of up to $10,000
    • Substance abuse treatment
    • Community service after release from prison

What Can Our Waynesville Multiple DWI Attorney Do for You?

Any case involving a criminal offense can be chaotic and overwhelming, especially when you’re the defendant in question. It is absolutely essential that anyone being charged with a third or subsequent DWI retains a skilled defense lawyer as soon as possible. This way, you can receive adequate guidance and support as you navigate the trials ahead. At Edwards Law, PLLC, you can expect high-quality legal care that’s dedicated to your case.
Some of the benefits that come with choosing our accomplished defense firm include:

  • One-on-one legal guidance
  • Honest and efficient communication, including updates on your case
  • Assistance in analyzing what legal steps may work for your situation
  • Strategic, powerful defense strategies
  • Unbiased support

FAQs About Waynesville, NC Multiple DWI Laws

Can Your Car Get Taken When You’re Charged with a DWI in North Carolina?

If you have less than three DWIs, the state is only allowed to seize your vehicle if they found that you were driving drunk with a license that was already revoked. Otherwise, they cannot impound your vehicle just because you were impaired. Once you are arrested for your fourth DWI, the state then holds the right to seize your vehicle due to your habitual offender status.

Is Your Third DWI in North Carolina Considered a Misdemeanor or Felony?

Typically, a defendant’s first and second DWIs are classified as misdemeanors in North Carolina. However, the unique circumstances of each offense play a large role in their classification. Because the consequences become more harsh with every repeat DWI, an individual’s third DWI conviction becomes classified as a felony. All subsequent DWIs after their third offense will also be considered felonies.

Can You Get Your License Back After Your Third DUI in North Carolina?

As mentioned before, North Carolina imposes incredibly harsh penalties on those who are seen as habitual DUI offenders. Because of this, any individual charged with their third DUI in ten years will have their license revoked permanently. However, after five years, you may petition for your license to be reinstated if you meet certain eligibility requirements.

Are You Eligible for Probation When You Get a Third DWI in North Carolina?

Because probation is a form of alternative sentencing, only certain defendants may be eligible to request it after receiving a DWI. Generally, defendants can have their lawyers fight for probation instead of extended jail time for their first three offenses. Once an individual has committed their fourth DWI, they must serve a mandatory sentence of at least one year and cannot ask for probation to replace it.

Your Waynesville DWI Team

When you work with a lawyer that you can trust, you can help yourself and your case in a myriad of ways. At Edwards Law, PLLC, we believe that working with a compassionate legal team can make a massive difference in any case. Our firm is always waiting to assess new cases and prepared to find resolutions that can help. If you’re dealing with multiple DWIs in Waynesville, consult the DWI team at Edwards Law, PLLC, today.

Waynesville Practice Areas

Request a
free consultation

fill out the form
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.